Eight Limbs of Yoga

These are the eight limbs of yoga that helps you to achieve a definitive objective of truth, happiness, and bliss. Ashtanga frames the basis of yoga, and from it, different schools of training were conceived.

1. Yama

Yama explains the ethical ways of life. It lays the path for us, to lead our lives with genuineness and honesty. It focuses on 5 things: peace, truth, no theft, Celibacy, and no desire.

2. Niyama

Niyama weights on being thoughtful and insightful. It emphasize control and contentment. It focuses on 5 things: cleanliness and hygiene, contentment, control, self-study and surrender to God.

3. Asana

This part of yoga focuses on the human body. The body is viewed as sacred and caring for the sacred body, is of extreme significance for spiritual growth. Asana is a physical exercise which prepares the sacred body for control, focus and discipline. 

4. Pranayama

Pranayama focuses on controlled breathing and it is a practice by which one associates the body, mind, emotion, and soul.

5. Pratyahara

Pratyahara is the point at which we withdraw our sense from the external world. it is a separation from the outside world and finding the inner peace. One can concentrate without being distracted by externals or the temptation of the external world.

6. Dharana

Dharana is preparing the brain to focus in a single direction. The practitioner reaches the sixth stage Dharana, when the body is carved by asanas, the mind is polished by the fire of pranayama and  the senses are controlled by pratyahara,

7. Dhyana (Meditation)

In Dhyana, It is perfect thought. It involves concentration upon a point of focus with the intention of knowing the truth. when one focuses on the divine they become more reflective of it and they know their true nature. The quality and stamina gained from the previous limbs of yoga will help with Dhyana.

8. Samadhi

Samadhi is a condition of bliss that originates from an acknowledgment of self with the divine and a sentiment of unity with the other living creatures. it gives ecstasy and peace. Bliss and opportunity end up essential destinations of life. One goes beyond consciousness. In the state of samadhi the body and senses are at rest, yet the mind is alert.

Nipun Agarwal
Popular Yogi
Yoga lover and enthusiastic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *